Hello everyone,
I am completely new in this field, my work so far has focused on plaster modeling.
But soon I would like to start a new project, which requires a lot of knowledge in clay processing.
I would like to make two fireplace surrounds (designed in the style of the attached plan),

one for a decorative fireplace and one for a real fireplace which already has a cast iron insert whit a brick mantle.

I would like to know for the first one, for the decorative one, I need to burn the tiles or not.

It's about some large parts, for example 2 corbels 80x20 cm. Also I would like to know if such large parts should have any reinforcement system for example made of wire or iron.  

The material, the clay is good as I find it in commerce as it is or will need to be added some additives to avoid the appearance of fissures without burning.

For the symmetry of the parts, I thought it would be good to carve one part and the other to copy it with a plaster coating.

I look forward to any suggestions.
Thank you all

Plan.jpg

When you say burning I am assuming you mean firing and yes I think you will need to fire your tiles in a kiln. I am a little confused, the clay tiles are in the two rectangle areas on mantel and outlining the fire box and the rest is wood, right?

adriana, your surround looks very attractive but complicated to do in clay.   if i read your post correctly, you expect to make them  in one large section, that is 3 all together.   i cannot see how you would be able to do that since you have no experience with clay.  most potters would make many individual tiles for the entire surround.   the final installation would be done with tiles set in a material like cement that would hold them flat against the wall.