New Kiln - Manual vs Automatic?

Hi all,

I've been using my 50 year old Cress for these past 6 months, and I'm ready to upgrade to a larger size. Not only that, but my kiln takes forever to fire to cone 6 (12 hours usually). It's manual, but I have been following a modest firing schedule (2 hours at 20, 3 hours at 50, 3 hours at 80, and then 100 the rest of the way). No one has ever told me how fast I should turn the kiln up, and I don't have a pyrometer installed, so a lot of the manual firing schedules I find online mean nothing to me. I do use witness cones, and I know I'm reaching true cone 6, but I just don't know how fast I should turn it up.

I am looking at the ole girl and just thinking that she'd be better off as a bisque kiln. I don't want to trouble with replacing the elements, 

Moving on, no matter what, I need more space in my kiln. Now I'm at a crossroads moment where I need to decide what to do about my next kiln. I see the virtue in a kiln sitter now, vs a digital model. Though I can't do a hold, I know I won't ever have to replace a thermocouple. I use cone packs every time, every shelf, so I will be able to monitor my elements' effectiveness.

I don't really mind having to stay nearby the kiln to turn it up. I feel better that way. I know the bells and whistles of an app on your phone to monitor firing is nice for some, but is there anything wrong in me choosing to buy a brand new kiln that's not a digital control kiln? It would save me at least $1,000, and while I do view this as an investment, I am not a full-time potter, so I can't justify spending over $3,500 for a new kiln.