Slab roller build

CactusPots

Well, I got my manual 30" Bailey slab roller.  You weren't kidding that the table wouldn't be cheaper or easier to build than to buy from Bailey.  It reminded me why I quit woodworking and found ceramics as an alternate craft.  As a woodworker, I'm comparable to the village idiot who loves the princess.  That is not an easy build.   Multi table, multi level, square within 1/16"?  It's done, it was fun, but it's not pro quality build.

Tools are the true super power.

This bad boy took: table saw, router, band saw, cut off saw, chop saw, every clamp I have, half a bottle of Gorilla Glue and 5 days.  Yikes.  Looks good though. 

You can brag to visitors how you built that complicated table yourself.   I built a extruder from some Ceramic Monthly magazine plans.     I have improved it over the years from the original design,  my husband is always bragging to people that I built it without any help.  I hope you enjoy your Bailey slab roller.    Denice

Fact of the matter is I'm a tool junky.  Power tools are the true super powers.   I think this will open some possibilities for new designs.  I couldn't roll a perfect slab by hand, not even with sticks.  My premier build is still my kiln. 

One question:  The instructions on the canvas call for soaking the canvas first.  Should the canvas be damp when using it?  What is the purpose of this?  I'll order some slab mats next week, but want to try the roller first with the canvas.

thumbnail?appId=YMailNorrin&downloadWhenThumbnailFails=true&pid=2