Cress B-23-H to cone 018?

Hi all, I am buying my first kiln, a Cress B-23-H with a kiln sitter, this weekend. Won't have the wiring done for a while yet, but I'm curious if you can fire one of those old bad boys to cone 019-018? I am interested in some metallic overglazes, and I've never used them before. Any insight is helpful!

You can fire a kiln with a kiln sitter to any cone lower than it's rating.  Just have to buy the pyrometric bars of that cone number.

Curious as to why you're buying that model though, it's only rated to cone 6, which means it will only hit cone 6 with new elements, so it's really more of a low fire or bisquing kiln.

Edited by liambesaw

9 hours ago, liambesaw said:

You can fire a kiln with a kiln sitter to any cone lower than it's rating.  Just have to buy the pyrometric bars of that cone number.

Curious as to why you're buying that model though, it's only rated to cone 6, which means it will only hit cone 6 with new elements, so it's really more of a low fire or bisquing kiln.

The woman I’m buying from is firing it today to test. I will ask her if she is glaze firing.

I only fire to cone 6 anyway. But that does concern me about the new elements. I plan to fire using Amaco Potter’s Choice and celadons, which I know are 5/6.

She is liquidating her studio and selling me all her commercial glazes (pints), kiln furniture, kiln, like-new Shimpo RK whisper, tools, ware boards and bats for $1,400.

She has a modest little studio, but the deal seems considerable.

My husband is an electrician/technician for the FAA and works on landing equipment. He could replace the elements pretty easily. How much am I looking at for all new elements in the kiln?

1 hour ago, Tumbleweed Pottery said:

The woman I’m buying from is firing it today to test. I will ask her if she is glaze firing.

I only fire to cone 6 anyway. But that does concern me about the new elements. I plan to fire using Amaco Potter’s Choice and celadons, which I know are 5/6.