Can anyone tell me the difference

Hi all experienced potters . I have a small Evenheat Rampmaster 11 electric kiln .  Very easy to use as it has built in programs.

one option is slow bisque 13 hours or fast bisque 10 hours . I bisque to cone 04  using the slow bisque program. Can I use the fast bisque 10 hours for completely dry earthenware ?  Looking forward to hearing from you .

This is a trial and error thing. If your clay needs the slow program to get all the organics out then it will need it. Burning out unwanted organics often requires time and temperature so testing to see if fast  is adequate for a particular clay body will be the only way to know for sure. Folks often use slow all the time simply because they do not want  to risk random issues arising in the glaze firing later. 

2 minutes ago, Benzine said:

Yeah, but you are "The Kiln Whisperer"....

Ha!

The Slow Bisque profile goes 80F/hr for the last 250 degrees. The Fast Bisque goes 108F/hr for the last 250 degrees. They both go 180F/hr for the segment before that. Not a big difference, only a 2 our difference total for the firing. Most of the difference is in the first 1100 degrees, where the concern is cracking or blowing up a big or thick piece.

Neil I guess you've done the Math. Energy saving worth a consideration Energy in Aus is Expensive, as is clay , in fact all aspects of ceramics.

I bought a single 12kg bag of clay to try.Close on $30 exc freight

Thanks all , great replies , I’m going to bite the bullet and try the fast bisque option . 

I’ll make sure everything is very dry and do a test fire  with a few pieces .  As Babs said , energy in Australia is very expensive . What’s the worst that can happen ??? Open the kiln to a mess ? It’s all a learning curve .  Won’t do it for a few weeks as we’ve got an exhibition coming up and I fire for a friend  so I’ll stick to what works in the meantime but will post results after I run the test fire . Happy Friday to all . Susie