Plaster bats for recycling clay. Newbie.

Aussie John

I am new to ceramics and have recently started teaching art is a school two days per week.  The other art teacher is also not a ceramicist.  The current practise in the school it to discard clay ‘waste’.  This is loads of clay so I have been working on recycling.

I have dried discarded clay and rehydrated it for over a fortnight in a large bucket and made two large plaster bats to dry the rehydrated ‘slip’.

Two questions:

1.  Despite having been cast five days the plaster bats feel slightly cold to the touch - does this indicate they are still drying and not ready to use?

2.  I have used one of the bats to begin the ‘drying’ process of firming up the rehydrated clay over night and flipped it onto the second bat this morning.  All seems to be fine but the original bat now is damp from the clay sitting overnight.  I have more rehydrated clay to process.  Should I wait before sitting the next batch on the plaster and if so how do I know the plaster bat  is ready to use again?

Hope this makes sense!!

John

1. Yes, plaster can take longer than that to fully cure. I normally allow new plaster items to cure for a week, but for a thick plaster slab it might take longer. Wait until they feel like room temperature.

2. Yes, the plaster slab will feel damp after clay has been sitting on it overnight. Normal! You can probably use it again right away one or two more times, but then give it a few days to fully dry out. 

It could take a couple of weeks for the new slab to dry out. It wouldn't hurt to run a fan on it for a few days, or put it in a small room with a dehumidifier if you have one. Once it's totally dry, it will suck the water out of your clay much faster, and it will dry out pretty quickly after using it.