Clay as a positive mold for a hydrocal sculpture?

Hi all, 

New here as a ceramic arts daily member, but i have been browsing this forum for great info for years! 

I am currently trying to make an outdoor sculpture for a project I am working on in architecture school.  I am thinking about using Hydrocal® White Gypsum Cement to create my sculpture because of its durable qualities and hopefully  easy to finish nature (please feel free to advise me if I am right or wrong on these, I am new to working with the material).  

The question I have involves casting the Hydrocal to create the sculpture.  I am thinking about creating a hollow clay coil mold for my sculpture, into which i would pour the hydrocal mix to allow for it to conform to the coil mold's interior shape and form.  I would pour-cast this sculpture as the clay mold (laguna bmix) would be in the leather-hard shape.  To limit the weight of the final sculpture, I would want to let the outer portion set up and be able to pour a significant amount out, so the final hydrocal sculpture itself is hollow too.  

Does this sound like it would work?  I am worried that the hydrocal would stick to the clay mold, or that it would be too thick a consistency to pour out to make it hollow.  

I hope that this makes sense to you all.  Please respond with whatever feedback you think that i need, with whatever information you could offer me.  I appreciate all the help! 

-Daniel 

45 minutes ago, Daniel Smith said:

I am worried that the hydrocal would stick to the clay mold, or that it would be too thick a consistency to pour out to make it hollow.