How To Create A Very Large (4-5Ft) Statue?

I'm new to working with clay, but my research has shown that Kiln's dont typically come much larger than 2x2. or 3x3 at most (which will run you 8,000+ dollars).  I got my hands on a 15x17 kiln which is plenty large enough for most smaller projects, but I could see myself wanting to work at a much larger scale, as well.

If I wanted to make a sculpture that was 3 feet tall I obviously can't fit the entire thing into my kiln.  I imagine I would need to fire the sculpture in parts and then attach it together, but that seems like it could be disastrous.   How are most large clay sculptures made?  I would really love a link to a guide detailing some of this if anyone has one.  

I dream of one day moving on to large stone statues, but that's very expensive so I want to practice my hand with clay for a while first.  

Welcome to the forum.

You indeed stated the best method for making large sculptures,mbased on the constraints of a smaller kiln. Make the sculpture in sections and connect them afterwards. They make a lot of great, strong adhesives, that you can use to connect them.

Many large sculptures, including ceramic murals, are made this way. In both cases, you build the whole thing at one time, and then cut it into smaller pieces, then fire.

Like you might guess, some larger sculptures are just fired in larger kilns.

I've seen photos of really large sculptures, that are fired in place. They are wrapped in a ceramic fiber blanket, and heated with multiple torches.

Best of luck.

Welcome to the forum.

Make the sculpture in sections and connect them afterwards. 

Definitely the way to go.  Make sure the parts interlock and are stable - think of the way a doll is jointed, with wires holding the two arms together.  also use any feature lines as joints.