Bought A Used Kiln--Opinions On Condition/repair?

Hello everyone!

I'm new to ceramics, and on a budget. I bought this kiln for $100. I'm pretty excited, because for $100 it seems to be in good shape. It is old, though.

I've included some pictures. A few things are minor concerns to me.

There is (what I would consider) a hairline crack traveling across the bottom of the firebrick inside. I've heard that hairline cracks are normal, and not a problem.

Overall, the kilns seems rust free, except on the attachments of the handles, and a few screws. Should this concern me? The handles seem pretty solid.

The lid has a few chips on the very outer edge of the firebrick. They don't seem to extend in far enough, in my newbie opinion, to cause a problem.

My biggest concern, however, is that one of the clamps holding the metal ring that goes around the lid is broken. (See pics) Do you think I can solder this back on? I'm concerned about the solder melting during the firing process. I'm not sure how hot that part would get...

Basically, I'm looking for confirmation that I got a good deal and that the kiln is more or less ready to go. Is there anything I should do to it before I christen it with one of my $hitty test pots?

Thanks so much!

TA

post-64045-0-33872900-1404398825_thumb.jpg

post-64045-0-38485500-1404398826_thumb.jpg

post-64045-0-47520300-1404398827_thumb.jpg

post-64045-0-48365200-1404398828_thumb.jpg

post-64045-0-49306100-1404398829_thumb.jpg

That looks to be in really nice shape.  I've seen kilns for sale that looked like they fell off the back of a truck, rolled down a hill, caught fire and sank into a swamp, to be discovered 30 years later and used as a fire-pit by homeless guys until someone got the bright idea to sell it to the ceramics shop for the cost of a bottle of Ripple.  And the ceramics shop wants $250 for it as-is.