Iron Oxide(S) And Rust Formula

Hi folks,

I am a newbie to this forum  and a resonably new to ceramics.  Can someone tell me the practical differences between 'rust' and the 'iron oxide'  that is mixed up in the evening school classes I attend?  I've sussed that rust have extra OH and H2O groups, so why can't I find any topics that say "I collect local rust" and add it to my..........(pots/glaze recipes/etc etc...).  'If I don't have to pay for it, I'm interested!'  V   :)post-57005-0-56354200-1373721468_thumb.jpg

post-57005-0-56354200-1373721468_thumb.jpg

Hi folks,

I am a newbie to this forum  and a resonably new to ceramics.  Can someone tell me the practical differences between 'rust' and the 'iron oxide'  that is mixed up in the evening school classes I attend?  I've sussed that rust have extra OH and H2O groups, so why can't I find any topics that say "I collect local rust" and add it to my..........(pots/glaze recipes/etc etc...).  'If I don't have to pay for it, I'm interested!'  V   :)attachicon.gifB&W Gulls.jpg

Even though none of the main three Iron oxides used in ceramics are very pure, they'd all be a lot purer and stronger than rust. Maybe you should test it out and post a topic titled "I Collect Local Rust" and let us know what you discovered.

Jim