Newbie Question about Food Safe

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the art of pottery and sometimes it is so complicated, I don't think I will ever have a handle on all of the things you can do with clay!! Slips, globes, cone 06, cone 6, sgraffitto, potash.....the list goes on and on. But one thing that I have been puzzling for a bit and cannot find a straightforward answer to, is this: can you safely eat off of low-fired goods?

The reason I ask this is because at the studio where I study, we always fire to Cone 6, and I have thought all along that it was because the things we make would be safe for food. But then I have been reading about earthenware, and that you can eat off of those goods with low fire glazes, fired to cone 05 or 06. I was just looking at some glazes that had that on them. So...am I misunderstanding something here? Can you safely eat, dishwash (which, I understand, is another question) microwave low fired goods, and if so, what is the benefit of going to Cone 6, considering how much hotter and longer that takes??

Does this make sense?? Thanks for your patience,

nancy

Folks have been using earthenware for food storage, preparation, and eating for thousands of years. So, yes, its safe. Use durable and stable glazes -- just as you would for ^6 or ^10 wares.

Many earthenware potters advise against putting earthenware in dishwashers . . . mostly because earthenware fired at low temperatures does not vitrify and tends to be more absorbent of water. Also, dish washer detergents are far stronger than those used for hand washing and can wear down the glaze. That high absorbency can lead to explosions in the microwave (water turning to steam and steam expanding in the ware). Then, again, any clay body not fired to vitrification is susceptible to absorbing water and failing in a microwave.