Affordable Firing & Glazing? (I'm New--First Post Here)

I am just getting started in pottery and have made a couple pinch pots and a few hand built plates, out of "low fire" grey clay (I was told to start with this clay at the local pottery store).

It costs $3 to bisque fire a plate and $3 to fire it again after glazing.  The glaze is around $2.  So a small plate starts approaching $10.

There has to be a more affordable way.  I'd like to cut the cost down to a couple dollars a plate if I can.

This means I am willing to dig up clay from river beds (need info how to do this), make my own firing pit or small wood fired kiln (fire wood is cheap here).  Willign to make my own glazes as well.

I'd like to make stuff that is not glossy and that looks old /vintage/distressed etc..

I do food photography and want some really interesting plates and bowls.   But I don't want to have to pay $10 per dish if possible.

Thanks!

you might look into a local studio that does classes.  It may be more cost up front, but the one I attend offers 8 week classes for a very reasonable price.  I have an addtional clay purchase but the bisque fireing, glaze material and glaze fireing are all included.  If you only kept 2 pieces a week  it would still be less expensive than what you said you were paying. 

There is a lot of technical know how to be able to make your own kiln, clay and food safe glazes, years of learning to get good safe results...wood firing takes days of labor. Find a class to get you started on your journey.

There is a lot of technical know how to be able to make your own kiln, clay and food safe glazes, years of learning to get good safe results...wood firing takes days of labor. Find a class to get you started on your journey.

How about a Raku kiln?  Propane tank, propane burner, ceramic fiber & a drum.  Seems simple to me.

like in this video: