Crack handle after 2,5 years!

Dear community,

I hope I am uploading my question in the right section, if not feel free to move it. 

So I made a mug about 2,5 years ago that I gave to my sister. Yesterday she told me that the mug cracked by the handle (see picture) although she does not recall anything happen to it.
Looking at it I feel like it most be an expansion issue that must have caused the crack to happen. I am just surprised that this would happen after such a long time! I am self taught and have been making pottery on and off for about 10 years now. In the last year or two I also started making my own glazes. Pottery is really complex in my opinion and producing something that is not of great quality is always something I worry about a bit and even sometimes make me question if I should pursue pottery it all since I learned everything myself. So having something like this happen, a mug breaking years after making it, really makes me question how I can unsere that my pottery is good and durable. 

Do you guys also think it is an expansion/stress problem that caused the crack? And do you have any methods beside the ice water/boiling water test to check for good glaze fit?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. Have a great day!

Marie 

IMG_40750EAA8B20-1.jpeg