Mudwork's White Bear or Ice Man

Clay17

Hello all

Has anybody worked with Kentucky Mudwork's White Bear in a ^6 firing?  If so, what is your opinion?

In the past I used Standard's 563, but since the formula change I find it's absorption rate of close to 3% unacceptable. I'm just about through with the 500# of Standard's 630 I ordered and while it's ok I'm not really happy with it's grey appearance and that my clear likes to craze on it.  I prefer a more white clay. Forget their 240.

Looking for any suggestions about any other white throwing clay too.

I didn't realize that the 563 is over 2%, as that is what is still listed on their website. As for the 630, I am still using it, but as to the grey appearance I have come to use a single dip of my white liner glaze and then work over that. I have a line of glazes that work very well on that and the 211. I have been buying from SC in Pittsburgh since 1975 when I started buying clay for the Altoona Area High school.

best,

Pres

I have been using Kentucky Mudworks Kota.  They call it a porcelain  but it is the easiest throwing porcelain I have ever used.  And it is more white than Laguna 16 (which I think is Miller 16 on the east coast)   I have not used any of Kentucky Mudworks other clays but I am hearing great things about all of them.  

Roberta

• Clay17 changed the title to Mudwork's White Bear or Ice Man

I don't use either of these clays, but if I have used Glazy to find other potters who use the clay I use.  

Just put "White Bear"  in the activity search box in Glazy.  I see that Joe Thompson has used it with Van Gilder Tenmoku (he tried it on several clays so use the arrows to find the White Bear photo) .   Perhaps you can message him. 

You can use the same process for Iceman.  Glazy link.

Hope you find someone that is willing to correspond with you.   

• 2 weeks later...