Basement Studio Help

Hello! A complete newbie to this community. I have a home basement studio and I wanted to know how others with a home/ basement studio manage dust? I do wear a mask whenever I clean and do wet sponging but I always keep coughing. I also have 3 cats that are always around me since their food and little is in the basement too. I sometimes wonder if they would have issues with silica with constant exposure.

My basement is finished but has a tiny window which not really accessible. Plus I live in Canada so half of the year our windows are closed.

people in similar situation like mine, how do you operate?

Thank!

Hi Pot, Welcome to the Forum!

Good question. I'll circle back and post links to further reading later...

Meanwhile, I work in a single car garage space (previous Studio was also a single garage space!), which does have ventilation options, however, much of the year is rather hot, else chilly. 
I try to keep after the floor with a wet mop - an actual commercial bucket, wringer and mop. Having the floor accessible helps there. The mop is handy for cleaning off shoes/sandals as well - don't track it around!
In general, any dry clay - bits, pieces, splatter, slip - can easily become dust. Hence, I'm looking to keep dry clay to a minimum, wipe off the work surfaces, tools, wheel. No waving cloth about that has dry clay embedded in (rags, clothing, the dreaded canvas, ugh).
The only dry clay I want to see is greenware awaiting first fire (on shelves, out of the way and protected), and clay to be reclaimed (stored away).

I'm seeing the wedging station being a dust source, also trimming at the wheel.
There are strategies for minimizing those dusts, tbc.

The typical dust generators I see are:
  stepping on clay that's on the floor
  dry clay, slip, glaze, etc. that's disturbed and flies into the air
  airborne dust that's settled, then re-launched, repeat, repeat...