Belt slipping?

mxdsa

Hello. I've just joined this community after reading the forums for a few days. There's so much knowledge being shared! Besides reading about wheel problems, I found an inspiring youtube teacher linked from a post somewhere here in the forums - Hsin-Chuen Lin. I'm looking forward to digging into the chemistry section, but for now I'm focusing on fundamental throwing skills. I have some experience with throwing and firing, but my last phase of dedication was in the late 00s - until I started again about six months ago.

That's my intro, and now the reason for this post. I have an (relatively/don't know how) old Brent CK. I bought it probably 15 years ago, don't remember what the original owner told me of its provenance. When applying a decent amount of pressure, usually, but not always when centering, I can very easily stop the wheel. I took off the plastic cover and had a look while doing this - the belt stops completely (and of course the large wheel that it turns), but the motor shaft keeps spinning. This is belt slippage, yes? If so, from what I've read the tension needs to be increased. I would appreciate confirmation or correction before going further.

Here are photos: https://photos.app.goo.gl/ce5pTWv8FAMYGJdd8

Maybe related: in the last photo, you can see a broken vertically-grooved plastic washer. This was loose on the shaft, under the belt, where it meets the motor body. (See mockup for location.) It broke when I was 'inspecting' it. What is this piece and do I need it?

Thanks!

Caleb

I consider myself as a Brent guy since 1969 when I bought mine in Socal