Soluble salts

ATauer

I am just getting into using soluble salts for pitfiring, saggar firing, and raku. I am having a really hard time finding most of them- I randomly found from the previous owners of my house that they left a 20+ year old 2lb bottle of copper sulfate, which is great, and I got a pretty good deal driving 4 hours to Dakota Pottery Supply to get some cobalt sulfate. They were out of stannous chloride, I did buy a gallon of ferric chloride. Steven Branfman’s books on raku have a very small amount of information about fuming during raku, he gives some recipes called Biz’s Peacock Blu and Biz’s Ruby Red that have the same materials just different ratios- Stannous Chloride, Strontium nitrate, and Barium Chloride. He also has Biz’s Opal fuming recipe which is Stannous chloride and Bismuth nitrate. I am having a very hard time finding most of these materials. US Pigments has Stannous Chloride for quite a bit more than Dakota’s Pottery Supply usually sells it for, but the others US Pigments doesn’t have. Googling I have found some materials, and other soluble salts (I have been reading Arne Ase’s Water Color on Porcelain) in very small amounts for very high prices. I’m interested in doing fuming as well as using some of these soluble salts to paint/glaze on to porcelain…Arne Ase’s book is great but he did all his testing in reduction and I can only do oxidation, and he also tended to use slightly different materials than I have available..like cobalt chloride instead of sulfate. If anyone has some suggestions for chemical companies that may sell some of these I would really appreciate it- I am not having good luck with finding them for the most part at pottery stores.