Glaze making - beginner's questions

karimel

Hi potters!

I am very new to glaze chemistry. I am not very experienced potter but as I have my own kiln I decided to research a question of  making my own glazes. I use shop bought  brush on  and dipping glazes  in EW and  mid fire range, and now when I started to make more items I want to explore glaze making process. I am interested in celadon kind of glazes in particular. 

Please point to the appropriate topic as I did not find one with such a basic answers.

My questions are:

- what kind of mask/respirator do I need (are there particular standards for dust masks for the task)?

- 1g scales: how much should they cost? there are cheaper options ($A20-50) - can they be trusted?

-  any suggestions on text books?

- what else do I need? Like basic chemicals - what amount to buy to start with and how safe is it  to store them in a garage?

Thanks in advance!

I recommend a respirator with P100 filters that are rated for dust. Some filters are rated for odors too but you don’t need to worry about odors, just dust.

My scale was about $30 USD, from Amazon. Make sure it can measure 0.1 grams, sometimes you need increments that small. And up to 2000g, you rarely need to weigh out more than that. To make sure you can trust the scale, also buy some calibration weights so you can occasionally check its accuracy.

2 hours ago, karimel said:

I am interested in celadon kind of glazes in particular.