Working with Paper Clay Questions

Paper clay newbie here with a bunch of basic questions that I can't seem to find answers to online.

I just purchased Vachon White Paper Clay (cone 04-6) from Seattle Pottery Supply. I've never played with paper clay so not sure what it's supposed to feel like. This one is very firm, does not smooth very well, has stress cracks when I bend it, and doesn't seem to want to blend well.  If I use a cookie cutter on it, the paper fibres are clearly visible and need to be smoothed back in.  Is it possible it's too dry and if so, what is the best way to hydrate it? Any other tips and tricks for making the most out of working with it? Stick to sculpture? When bisque fired, will it have a rough texture? Should I consider glazing with thicker glazes to help smooth out the final texture, or will underglaze be fine?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice. Is there a good resource book that covers all of this?

Wood fiber reinforced clay, I've no experience with it, and bein' enamored with wheel throwing, I may never, however, I am curious!

Likely the fibers help transmit moisture to the surface and hence out of the clay. Perhaps, like un-fibered clay, the body can be hydrated using typical methods, e.g. cut into slabs (3/8" or so), spray both sides with water, stick them back together, wedge, and repeat until desired wetness is achieved. Be sure to wedge thoroughly.

Once bisqued, very likely the clay will be more porous, as the fibers will have burned away, hence more fragile as well.

I don't imagine paper clay would throw very well? I'd thought the purpose of adding fiber was to aid hand building/sculpting.

Links for the curious:

10 Paperclay Tips | Emma Will - YouTube
How to Use and Work With Paper Clay (thesprucecrafts.com)
Paper Clay Sculpture - A Fantastic Way to Strengthen Your Work! (ceramicartsnetwork.org)
Making Paper Clay Storage Easier and Less Stinky (ceramicartsnetwork.org)
All About Paper Clay - Spinning Pots