Paragon A88B questions

Raissas

Hi,

Newbie here! I was hoping I could get some help. I hope I’m posting in the right place. I have been taking ceramics classes for years (with the teacher firing my greenware and glazed  items) but I’ve never had my own kiln.
I now have an opportunity to purchase a used Paragon A88B kiln. The person is posting for an elderly family member in town and doesn’t know anything about the kiln. From the pictures the brick and elements look good but the kiln sitter looks really old. Can I replace that with an electronic version?  Would I have to replace other electrical parts as well?

Also the plate on the kiln lists 240 /120V what does that mean?

I’ve added pictures.

Any help  would be appreciated. Thank you so much!

8617D854-A10F-4DAA-84B0-790EC222C272.jpeg

DE46E71E-AB90-47B5-B5AD-92279F5EE3D5.jpeg

D1A05B92-16FE-48E2-AB83-E55294F279B7.jpeg

E7B17DB1-9531-4EE0-8AD9-CE99029AD8B5.jpeg

1EAAD1C2-38E3-46E8-A8EC-CE1C66C5C73E.jpeg

Hi, your kiln looks in good shape. Have a go at it and try a firing before you get a, digital kiln controller. There are many available, but doing your research can narrow it down to what you want. 

The 240v is the power needed to run the kiln and get the element to the temperature your kiln is rated for. I wouldn't worry about the 120v. I have a Paragon A82B but never used the a 120v outlet on the control box. But you can call Paragon and ask. 

But more import than that is the amps. I see you have 25.9 amps. So the breaker must be at 30 amps or above. Best to ask Paragon or any qualified electrician.  Get this done first then fire, then decide if you should spend the extra money on the digital kiln controller.

Best of luck. ~marko

Edited by Marko

14 minutes ago, Marko said:

Hi, your kiln looks in good shape. Have a go at it and try a firing before you get a, digital kiln controller. There are many available, but doing your research can narrow it down to what you want.