Just out of high school

Hi, my name is Jack.

I'm out of high school and enrolled in UNT (University of North Texas) and I'm scared. I'm in 3 weeks and I know it's quick to say anything, but I just don't feel right. I'm majoring in studio art and minoring in graphic design, but I just can't figure out if this is right for me, or if there's a ceramic certification course elsewhere that is more fitting than me learning and wasting seemingly time on things that just feel so useless and crammed in my head. Does anyone have any thoughts of what should i do or am I just overthinking it?

Jack, Welcome to the forum.

I would say that at this point, it is just too early to know, give it a semester and see what happens. When I say give it a semester, I mean put your heart and head into everything you do. This of course is IMHO, but I spent many years in education teaching at HS, summer camps and College levels. First semesters are rough in a lot of ways.

best,

Pres

Good question Jack!
Someday you'll have an answer, however, likely that answer will evolve some as your life unfolds.

Opportunity to meet people and consider ideas that you otherwise might not?
A mentor and friend, years ago, pointed out that my dog "...figures out where it's at, then goes for it..." as my friend's dog always fell for the fake throw o' th' ball.

I'm still figuring out "where it's at" - have had some good ideas over the years though...

is there a counselor available to you?   i know nothing about college but assume that you are not the only student to find yourself questioning your next step.    there must be someone who you can talk to about these feelings.    asking  for help is hard but necessary sometimes.