newbie wanting a small home studio

Hi Everyone, 

I have been throwing at a friends studio for 3 years now and decided to buy my own wheel during the pandemic. I have been taking my pieces to her to fire for a small fee and don't have much firing experience of my own. Since I have a wheel and a decent sized shed... I'm considering  buying a kiln and having an electrician to come to set up power in the shed. My hope is to have a small business someday. The shed is basic, no insulation, AC, lighting or power - a perfect blank slate for me to design. 

Being a novice, and realizing this is going to cost a lot, I'm looking for feedback, tips, things to consider/avoid, and others experiences. 

Hi Haley!

Read, research, practice, practice ...get out and look at others' pots and visit with potters when you can. In the meantime, there are more online videos, forum threads, books and magazines than one could ever read/watch.

Looks like late April to early October might be fairly comfortable up there; a shiver shed is the the first thing that jumps out at me, but I don't tolerate cold as well as I did just a few years ago. You'll want to be comfortable.

Any road, kiln being "next," may I suggest: 

provide enough current to run at least a seven cubic foot unit, even if you start smaller;

from there, supply current to run all your other stuff;

plan for excellent ventilation, including dedicated kiln vent, the downdraft type, and overhead heat and fume vent as well*;

pyrometer for real time feedback;

kiln glasses.

Take your time. Do it right - electrical, dust control, safety an' health. Plan for efficient movement o' wares - shelving, carts, ware boards, counter space. Throw a lot!

*If you plan to be in the same area/room where the kiln is any longer than you can hold your breath!

I just got my first kiln recently, it's also in an unheated,  uninsulated shed. It already had power, but not enough for a kiln.