Buying Used Shimpo Cone Art Kiln - Model BX2827D - good idea?

ango0211

Hi all, I am looking to buy a used Shimpo Cone Art Kiln - Model BX2827D for a home studio that I am in the process of setting up. It says it comes with a 3 Zone Bartlett Controller, which I think means that it's a V6-CF 700 series controller. I've only ever used automatic electric Skutt kilns which are super easy. Is this kiln as  easy to operate? I have zero experience firing a manual kiln with kiln sitter.

Thank you for any and all advice!

The operators manual is available from Bartlett controls. It’s really the control that has been on many kilns over many years, often rebranded. Simple to operate. And a cone art kiln is a thing, not sure shimpo has anything to do with it Frank Tucker and Cone Art Kilns out of Ontario Canada I believe.

That is a 10 cu ft (fairly large) kiln that requires an 80 amp breaker on single phase 240v BTW.

Nice wiring diagrams and manuals available on their website

https://coneartkilnsshop.com/

4 hours ago, Bill Kielb said:

And a cone art kiln is a thing, not sure shimpo has anything to do with it

Shimpo has (had?) a line called ConeArt. Not sure what the connection is to Tucker's, if they're just branding them or what. Can't get the Shimpo website to load this morning.

@ango0211 If the wall bricks, floor, and lid are all in good condition, and the price is right, it'll be a good kiln. The Bartlett controller is the same circuit board as the Skutt contoller, but Skutt has simplified the touchpad a bit. If you can use a Skutt you can use a Bartlett.