Tips on my slip casting journey

seesoe

Hi everyone, first post on this forum and i'm also new to ceramics. I've taken a really basic ceramics class long ago in college. I'm trying to slip cast a custom tray, but I'm having some trouble. I'm not sure if this is the best spot in the forum.

I just finished building the my kiln. It has a 220v, 3840 watts element, 3 inch IFB23 inner walls with 2 inch ceramic fiber board wall shell, and 3 inch floor, with an inner volume of 18 inches wide by 9 inches deep and 6 inches tall. Controller is a raspberry pi with 5 inch touch screen.

I modeled the part I'm trying to make in CAD, scaled it up by 13% and cut it out of polyurethane sign board foam. I then sealed the part with several coats of polyurethane and cast it in potters plaster #1 at a 1 lb 7 oz to 1 pint ratio. I used Slip 500L Laguna Stoneware. I waited about 1.5 hours before dumping the extra slip, however even after overnight, the body was still too floppy to take out the mold, I had to wait a few days before it was rigid enough to retain its shape. This induced the first cracks since I presume the plaster mold let it dry unevenly. I then did a long bisque to 04 and the temperature where the cone was located came out to be a little hotter.

I'm looking to have my part resemble a metal tray as much as possible so I elected to use  Amaco's Potter's Choice Palladium glaze. I put 5 normal coats on the part, however I still got green hue instead of silver. The firing schedule followed a 270*f/h to cone 7 as stated by the ceramic shop's info about the slip. (no watch cones for 7, they are still in the mail). On the top side of the part I got minimal pin holes, however on the bottom I got a bunch. The part also warped really badly and thus made it touch and fuse to the kiln shelf.

Questions for my next attempt.

What's the best way to cast a large flat part like my tray without deformation when popping it out of the plaster mold?