Opening a pottery school?

Hello!

I have been a hobbiest potter(give or take) for 14 years, with a pipe dream of being professional. I worked as a science teacher, and now I am a stay at home mom. When the kids are sleeping, I go out to my garage (ahem! Studio!) and make pots and dabble in fused glass, and sell them at the local farmer's market.

To make a long story short, when it is time for me to go back to work, I would LOVE to be a ceramics teacher. I love teaching, but I also love art, and I would love to spread this joy to young people. Unfortunately, like many school districts now, there are very few positions available -usually one pops open when someone retires. Jobs are getting cut due to cutbacks and it's a buyers's market for artist/teachers.

SO - my idea was to open a pottery studio that would teach ceramics and glass classes to both adults and young people, an art school. The town I live in has a strong middle-upper middle class with many stay at home parents looking for things to do with children. Possibly, we would have resident artists, sales, etc. The closest ceramic studio where people can take classes, other than the local community college, is about an hour's drive away.

Does anyone know of or have a business like this? How did you get started? Are there any resources out there to assist the startup of a business like this? Any thoughts/ comments? Is this a crazy idea?

Thanks!