a few more questions re Advancer shelves...

Kakes

Hello, I just spent a couple hours reading up on Advancer shelves including all the posts here that came up on the search. I still have a few questions I'm hoping some of you might be able to answer  before I bite the bullet and spend the $$$.

I fire large stoneware slabs (up to 20") flat on small stoneware rods (1/4" diameter) to prevent cracking. Warping doesn't matter so much. Will they do anything different on Advancer shelves? Could I stop using the rods?  Right now I have the regular solid cheap shelves - forgot what they're called. 

Also, I have a downdraft vent on my kiln (skutt). Is this ok with Advancers? 

Trying to decide whether to wash the shelves -- I only use stoneware, which seems like it's ok not to wash. Do the shelves need to be flipped? (I hate messing with kiln wash, especially the clean up of shelves.) 

And finally, do I need to wash the ends of my kiln posts? I've never done this before, but I thought I read that it's a good idea with the advancers.

Thank you!