Repairing Gas Kiln Arch Bricks

StudioTech

Hi, I am a new studio tech to a university. I need to repair a few bricks from our gas kiln that are cracking due to expansion from firing. I know how to repair these bricks once they are out, but how do I remove these bricks and put them back in safely? We also have fiber mortar cement. Do I need to use that when I put the bricks back in? 

Thanks

20181011_092543.jpg.aea97300abc90c7dd118160f9e57763c.jpg

I definitely wouldn't mess with trying to remove the bricks. It's not really possible without dismantling a bunch of the kiln. You can mortar the broken pieces into place and sand them smooth, but they may not hold over time. If they come loose again, remove them and throw them out. The breaks aren't bad enough to affect the function of the kiln.

29 minutes ago, neilestrick said:

I definitely wouldn't mess with trying to remove the bricks. It's not really possible without dismantling a bunch of the kiln. You can mortar the broken pieces into place and sand them smooth, but they may not hold over time. If they come loose again, remove them and throw them out. The breaks aren't bad enough to affect the function of the kiln.

While I agree with Neil that the breaks aren't bad enough to affect the function of the kiln, I think it might be possible to replace the broken bricks with the help of the University's welding department. You can have them fabricate a supporting arch to fit under the bricks in question and with a jack, raise the support enough to loosen the bricks. Remove the bricks and repair or replace them. This way, you can make your repair and the welding dept gets a real world project to help their students. If you want to make a really big deal about it, get the engineering dept involved to design the supporting arch. Maybe this will work for you.

JohnnyK