Earthenware bakers

Where I live, I found a local clay ,pink color that I use for casserole and tajine that fire from 04 to 6

i always fire 04for casserole and they also go to direct flames,glazed or unglazed

its better to fire 04

i am not an expert but it work for me depending of what clay you use.

hope this will help you

I don’t think one is better than the other, pluses and minuses to both. The earthenware ones will be better insulators, think insulating firebrick vs hard brick, and the stoneware is likely to be more chip resistant than the earthenware. What I think is more important is the design of the piece, glaze fit and having a clay with as low a COE as possible.

Avoiding sharp corners and large flat bottoms in the design and having a well fitting glaze are all factors. The COE / CTE is what I think is the most important aspect. Since the pot will heat up in the oven there is the risk of it doing so unevenly. Part of the pot closest to the element / gas is going to get more heat / stress that the part furthest away from it. The less the pot expands the less chance of uneven heating (stress) and therefore cracking.

Usual caveats about covering the entire base of the pot with food, don’t place a hot pot on a cold surface and put the pot in the centre of the oven and heat from cold oven to temp with the oven.