Brand new to pottery

*I’ve edited the original post*

Hi Everyone!

i am getting my first pottery wheel this week, I tried throwing and I felt such a connection that I’ve been obsessed with learning tutorials on YouTube. Classes, although would be beneficial, are not going to happen right away (hold you fire, I know I should take them right away). I’m a creative soul- an artist and gigging musician. I just feel it in my being that pottery is my next endeavour. I’m planning on buying the Shimpo VL Lite, a box of clay and some tools to get me started. I know my craft will not appear immediately, but any advice or tools/accessories this newbie should buy would be appreciated. 

Thanks and Namaste 

Every wheel thrower needs to teach themselves their own techniques to a large extent.

However, you will save yourself a lot of time and lower your learning curve if you have someone teach you some basics. Such as, how to position and brace your body, arms, and hands. How to center. Basic knowledge of different claybodies. Basic tool knowledge.

Beyond that you can personalize your approach as much as you want.

Beginner's classes are relatively inexpensive and the knowledge you gain in a short period of time can be priceless. Where do expect to obtain the knowledge you need to be successful? Do you have unlimited funds to spend on the equipment you will need to be successful in your endeavor?

Just asking?

JohnnyK

20 minutes ago, JohnnyK said:

Beginner's classes are relatively inexpensive and the knowledge you gain in a short period of time can be priceless. Where do expect to obtain the knowledge you need to be successful? Do you have unlimited funds to spend on the equipment you will need to be successful in your endeavor?

Just asking?

JohnnyK

Thanks for your wisdom.

i do have a good friend that has been a potter for 30 years. He has shown me some basics and is willing to help.