My First Craft Show

Hi, I am not a new ceramic artist but I am new to the "craft table" scene. I just applied for a craft table at a street fair coming up this August. It's a two-day Saturday and Sunday show. I was curious if anyone else had been through this and could give me some suggestions. Specific questions I have are the following:

How many pieces should I make? (I don't want to end up going back home with a lot because I made too much)

What are the price ranges you charge for a basic bowl, mug, teapot, etc.

In your opinion, what items do you think sell the best?

Any inexpensive ways I can set up my booth that will be visually appealing to my customers?

Thank you!

~Dianna

Dianna,

The right number of pots to bring is "as many as you have." Don't worry about bringing too many, bringing a lot of pots back home is not a bad thing. Actually if you sell out of pots at the show, that means you missed out on some more sales.

Pricing is probably the hardest part. We did have a long, still ongoing at times, thread about pricing mugs here:

http://ceramicartsdaily.org/community/topic/1148-how-much-do-you-sell-your-mugs-for/

What items do I think sell best? Functional everyday wares, and things that would make nice wedding gifts.

You don't have to spend lots of money on your display. If your display is cluttered or too cutesy, people will be distracted by your display rather than looking at your pots. Simple is better. If your work will be displayed on a table, my best advice is to create several different levels of height, with risers or shelves, rather than having everything on the same level.

Good luck and have a great time!

Mea

Dm;

GEP has some good advice.Price range for me is mugs @ $15.00, bowls $18.00 -$25.00. Teapots $75.00-$85.00. Plates $35.00 for dinner plates,$25.00 for side plates.

You could have some smaller items @ $8.00, but don't spend all your time making rinky dink stuff.