The Starter Wheel

Briana

Hello. I’m new to the world of pottery and so far I’m in love. I’m currently taking a weekly beginners wheel course, but I’d like to really invest my time into the clay. 

So I’m looking for recommendations on a beginners potter wheel. Below is what I think I’m looking for. Any feedback would be wonderful!

Primary use: Hobbyist.

Wish List: relatively quite (it doesn’t have to be silent, but at least not sound like a truck), metal bat versus plastic, Can Handle a good amount of clay. I’m a beginner now, but don’t want to “outgrow” my wheel once my skills progress, & variable speed  

There’s always the option of purchasing new, but I’ve seen a few listed used, including the following:

AAMACO Model 101 $380

Speedball Artista $200

Pacifica GT400 $400

I’ve included some of the used prices so hopefully a more experienced eye can tell me if it’s a deal or a rip off. Thanks in advance for all the feedback. 

I have an Arista as a spare wheel for demos and working on a change of clay body when I don't want to change my primary wheel. They are good for smaller work. I also have an Aspire by Shimpo. This has a small wheel head. I use it for polishing  bases after woodier. Also use it for small work. Tea bowls, mugs, bowls. Bats are about 8". Both are tabletop wheels.

Selecting a wheel is a big investment. You really need to decide what you plan to do with it and your future demands for it. If you plan to sit 8 hours a day, you don't want back aches. Do you plan on getting to the point of throwing casseroles, dinner plates? You may need a larger wheel.  I had some old Amaco wheels similar to the 1-101 in my classroom when I started teaching. They were old in '75. . They can be slowed down while centering. remove from list.

Arista nice beginner wheel but long range may be limiting.