New-To-Me Refurbished Kiln Overfires. Where To Go From Here?

Hello,

I recently acquired a used Skutt 1227 and want to ensure its in good working condition before I begin firing my orders, which are piling up. Unfortunately the kiln seems to be overfiring and my trouble-shooting hasn't helped.

I'm new to firing but have read up on what to do. We started by replacing the elements and the thermocouple, and did the following for an 04 test fire:

-packed the kiln with furniture

-placed a set of cones on each shelf (03 04 05)

- set the kiln to run at 04, medium speed, with no hold

Kiln ran for a duration of 7.32 hours and reported reaching 1948 degrees. The cones however all melted down (image attached). I'm inexperienced here, but does this seem unusual? I saw some discussion about calibration, so is that a normal part of the process that I'm missing?

(One other thing I will note incase it could play a factor is that we rewired the kiln to be single phase and are running it on a 50 amp breaker. It is quite close to maxing out the breaker which I understand is not good, but I don't know if that's something that could play in to overfiring.)

Thanks in advance for your input!

post-79831-0-12206000-1475377342_thumb.jpg

post-79831-0-12206000-1475377342_thumb.jpg