Three breaks in Bisque firing

Hey all,

I am still a freshman into ceramics world, and still figuring things from modeling, to firings and glazing.

I recently met the same problem through the bisque firing, with three différent pieces, so I figured I might ask around ... in case the problem was frequent, and avoided with a extra technique.

For all 3, the foot detaches from the main part (beeing a vase, or a cup) almost at the same spot.

My first though was that the round shape of the main piece and the flat/rounded shape of the foot were not perfectly touching, thus creating a void, or a bubble.

For the last one, (whose foot also broke in 2) I discovered a different color inside the bisqued clay, kind of brown-ish. And wondered if that 's normal? (or maybe over/under fired?)

FIY, I used paperclay for assembling parts,

And the first 2 one I've been able to fix with paper clay - re-bisque - which seems to have worked (althou it's not pretty- and might not live though the 3rd firing)

But I intend to re-do them, whitout the foot failure.

Would you have any comment / Suggestion to prevent this problem?

This is a Earthenware - all 3 had been drying for minimum 1 month - were completely boned dryed - and none of them was showing cracks after drying process -

the schedule looked like this : 100°C/hr > 600°C > Hold 10min // 150°C/hr > 1040°C > Hold 10min

This forum has been such a helpful ressource,  I cant wait to have your feedback and exchange with you

Just added few pictures to illustrate -

Thank you so much for your interest and Help

Pierre

V03-2.jpg.310f54936a1793376b028553568e362b.jpgV03.jpg.e071936cd9f851cd3121d924f7588864.jpg

V01.jpg.5a9d16fc311bb5cb16d7ca696f30607c.jpgV02.jpg.2d49b5a7a0bc7ec44edce0989a083031.jpg