Down Draft kiln questions

Hello all, I am just in the process of taking an old electric kiln that was given to my wife and converting it to a propane fired down draft kiln. I have installed 4 burners in the bottom corners and made an exhaust from a 6x6 square tubing I had laying around. I have a few questions regarding firing. The kiln measures inside 30” deep, 24” wide and 36” tall with a curved roof. 

1. Where is the best placement for a thermocouple and is it necessary for multiple thermocouples?

2. when doing a reduction fire where do you measure the excess O2? Are you using an 02 sensor in the chimney? 

3. How fast do you usually fire one of these kilns? Are there temperature steps you try to achieve before increasing firing rate?

Thank you for any advice. I am very familiar with combustion as I install and service large industrial heaters and boilers and am an instrument technician by trade but am very inexperienced in gas kilns. Currently my wife is using electric kilns but we want this one for our off grid property in central BC. 
DB7746A9-B455-4E66-A525-39596ACEB214.jpeg.cb8102ed02452fe9613df5ef1e04be6e.jpeg

9AEA775C-0CE1-4F87-B56B-475BCA750F70.jpeg.17bc1af17a95cd5b36e7b7dcf97c191b.jpeg

18657E5C-9017-4160-BA7C-3FC73E5EDD68.jpeg.aa5b67bcd82f717eb60d444f2f67dc70.jpeg

Welcome to the forum!