Evenheat kiln electrical issue

I have an Evenheat RMII 2329 kiln. It was recently involved in a fire (wall behind kiln caught). I have replaced the RMII controller, the 3 relays and transformer. I believe the elements are all good.

When the power is turned on the controller wakes up and all looks correct. However once the lid switch is set there is a loud noise (humming/rattleing) coming from the control panel, this appears to be below the RMII controller in the area of the relays, transformer and main power connection. 

Once the kiln is turned on it starts heating and the relays start switching between the elements the noise becomes intermittent. One cycle it is there next cycle it goes away. At the same time the controller temperature indicator jumps up and down around 5 degrees.  

I am an electrician and this has got me compleatly beaten.

So it has a kill switch on the lid, and when you close the lid the humming starts, before the firing is started? How is the lid switch connected into the system? We don't see that setup very often in the US because lid switches are not required here. The hum is typically power flow, but there shouldn't be any power going through the relays until you hit start. Have you put a meter on the relays to make sure there's no power going through them?

If the thermocouple reading is jumping, then there's some sort of interference there. Is the controller grounded? Is the thermocouple too close to any metal? Did you replace the thermocouple wires?

The lid switch is connected from the  RMII controller through to the relays - all 3 are looped together. So when the lid switch is closed the signal is sent to the relays.  

I had disconnected the neutral from the relays and the same problem exists.

Havent replaced the thermocouple, but the clearence from any metal is good.

The controller does not have it's own earth connection but is fixed directly to the cover which is grounded.