Potters Plaster Set instantly before I could even pour the mold, what did I do wrong?

ocean_nerd

I'm new to making molds for slip casting, but I did everything according to all of the instructions I could find online.  I measred out 7763 g's (17 lbs) of potters plaster, and 6 quarts of water.  I mixed it with a mixing attachment on a drill.  I was going to vibrate my mold once I poured the plaster to get the bubbles out.  But before I could even pour, the consistency was like jello, and then as it poured, I realized it was setting instantly.  I have no idea what I did wrong.  Why did it set so quickly??

Did you mix it while you were adding the dry plaster to the water, or did you pour the water over the dry plaster and mix from there? The proper technique is to have the measured amount of water in a large mixing container and gently sift the premeasured amount of dry plaster onto the top of the water and let it sink. By the end of the premeasured  dry plaster, it will likely be sitting in an underwater "mountain" that nearly reaches the surface of the water. Let it sit there to slake for a few short minutes, and then mix it. It will be creamy, and then you can pour your mold. If you mix it too soon or too much, it will curdle and begin to set instantly.

Another possible fault is mixing in a container previously used to mix plaster but was not completely and thoroughly cleaned. The previously set plaster remains will instantly set off the chemical reaction of setting in the new plaster. For this reason, I tend to mix the plaster in a bucket into which I have inserted a plastic trash bag. It will be a bit trickier to pour the plaster out, but then I can just throw away the bag.