Fixing a fracture

My handle has a fracture in it and I'm not sure if I should break it cleanly off first before I reattach is or if I should use epoxy glue around the area. It pretty much goes around the attached area. I'm pretty new to this, so I'm wondering what my options are.

crack.jpeg.16b2c68c9b31f290d0885194e8e061fb.jpeg

• teatime changed the title to Fixing a fracture

Hi Tea!

Could be the fissure is superficial - where there's some solid attachment within?

Breaking it off to re-glue would likely resolve any dilemma - as in more pieces.

How's the upper handle juncture look?

That's an otherwise good looking handle! Smoothing/smearing the handle clay into the pot can be rather time consuming. Rounding off the handle end before attaching - leaving a uniform crease where the glaze will fill - is an option

image.png.c93137a01c1a2488a8f7c19257fa7558.png

...putting a dab of slip on there - enough so it squishes out when the handle is attached - and smoothing that into a small fillet with a finger (I use a damp brush) is an option as well. If the slip is a bit on the wet side, and the fillet large, the slip may crack; use stiffer slip, and leave a smaller fillet. Any road, filling a superficial crack is easy enough (with slip - dampen with a damp brush, apply with a damp brush, smooth with a damp brush).

A superficial fissure (say three times fast) in bisque - dampen it with that brush, pick up some glaze and work it well in thar.

Or just chuck it and make another.

28 minutes ago, Hulk said:

Hi Tea!

Could be the fissure is superficial - where there's some solid attachment within?

Breaking it off to re-glue would likely resolve any dilemma - as in more pieces.

Or just chuck it and make another.