Enamel glaze... on Hydrocal? In a kitchen oven?

I'm a newbie at all this and I need some insight. I'm currently making some Sculpey models that I intend to mold in silicone and then cast in Hydrocal plaster. I don't have access to a ceramics kiln, so the kitchen oven is my only option in the next step: glazing.  I know that regular glaze won't work in a kitchen oven, but I have been hearing of some kind of enamel paint that will act as a glaze over plaster and pottery when fired in a kitchen oven at 300º or so. Will this work?  The models, when cast in plaster, are not intended for food or drink so they don't need to be food safe.  The only videos I've found on YouTube are all about clay pottery, not plaster.

It doesn't really act as a glaze, it's more of a hardened paint.  It is prone to chipping and looks like paint.  I think in this instance you may want to try some enamel paint on it, see if it's worth the added cost. And at the same time, try normal acrylic paint and see which you prefer.  Enamel paint may absorb too quickly into hydrocal, so it would also be a good idea to seal or polish it somehow.

Maybe get a small bottle of it first before committing a small fortune on a selection of colors.  

The resulting surface will not be functional of course, enamel paints are not durable enough to eat from.

11 hours ago, 13th Floor John said:

f some kind of enamel paint

Pebeo I think. Acts and looks like paint. Donna Dewberry had great success (non food use) teaching one stroke with acrylics. Airbrush, brush and clear over all seems very doable for decorating these.

http://en.pebeo.com/Pebeo/More-of-Pebeo/Pebeo

Definitely not much like glaze or even China paints actually.

The thing that comes to mind for me is that plaster breaks down with heat. At a quick search for the specifics for hydrocal, I found this quote from the online product sheet