Exploding vases in bisque firing - please help!

Hi, 

I am extremely new to the ceramics community and I recently purchased an electric kiln. I have been making stoneware vases in the shape of bodies which in places are particularly thick (1.5 inches maybe at the base).

I had left the greenware for about a week before attempting a bisque fire. I had previously fired bowls in this kiln (cone 05) and none had cracked or had any issues.

Unfortunately when I came to open up my kiln filled with these vases many of them had either cracked in linear type chips or seemingly exploded completely (small shards shattered around). I have researched and apparently it can be an issue with moisture however they appeared to be bone dry from colour and tapping them.

I was wondering if anyone had any knowledge they could share with me over whether the issue is more one of thickness, temperature or potentially moisture content? I was in love with these vases and spent hours working on them and would be devastated if there was not a way around me making more of them. 

(apologies if this is not the correct place to put on this website- I have never used it before!)

Thank you in advance! 

Explosions are always associated with moisture.  One week for 1.5 inch thick is not enough time.  You would have to dry for a month to be safe.  

If you're going to do thick sculptures, a really handy clay to use is paper clay, which had small fibers of cellulose inside that wick moisture out.  You still have to dry them very well, but thicker parts will dry more evenly.  The issue is that the clay will not be water tight after firing because of the microscopic voids left when the paper burns out.

You can normally candle a kiln, which means run it just under 200 f, for several hours to play it safe before firing... But with thick pieces it doesn't really work to dry the pieces out because once the outside of a thick piece gets dry, the moisture traps itself on the inside a bit.