Beginner porcelain questions

Hi everyone - 

I am somewhat new to pottery and started throwing with grog clay at a communal studio.  I switched to non-grog clay and loved it, compared to working with grog.  I then purchased a small sample piece of ^6 porcelain on Etsy so I could try it out (studio doesn’t offer porcelain).  All I can say after using the porcelain is ooohhhhhh I don’t ever want to throw stoneware again.  What a pleasure.   Beautifully easy to move the clay and I barely used any water. I tried Laguna frost because I saw someone mention it online and because I know nothing about porcelain clay.  The reviews of the Frost are not good (a lot of cracking), so I will not go that route.  

How do I choose a good ^6 porcelain that is easily accessible?  Perhaps Standard 551 or Elaine’s?  I’m just not sure the reasoning for choosing one porcelain over the other, but I can tell you that I don’t want to throw stoneware anymore lol.

Any assistance you can provide for this newbie would be greatly appreciated, including any reference videos on how to throw and handle porcelain properly.  Thanks!

Melanie

Hi Spiffy!

I haven't tried midfire porcelain yet (nor high fire), have worked with bmix (w/o sand or grog), which is very smooth, you might give it a try? That said, I've glaze fit to figure out for bmix - my selection of glazes fit the other clays I have; my guess is that porcelain could be similar - glaze fit may come up!

Spiffy:

porcelain will always have a different feel than stoneware due to structure of kaolin clay.

premium porcelain typically use premium plasticizers: macaloid or gums. Premium porcelain bodies have purer kaolin grades, premium plasticizers, and higher flux levels in order to achieve higher degrees of translucency. They typically have higher COE values for those reasons: Frost for example is 6.99 COE. Frost uses a gum ( not v gum) that creates that tacky feeling. Premium porcelain are off white to light buff in color.