How do I create white cups like Everyday Coffee Cups?

Authur

If you're working with a brown or red clay, white can be more difficult. It's easiest to start with a white clay body, and use a white glaze over it. Any clear glaze can be made white by the addition of a zircon opacifier such as Zircopax or Superpax. You'll need 10-12% to get a solid bright white. The base glaze formula will affect just how the white looks, but this will be a good starting point.

Thanks for replies guys. It help alot. The one i using is I bought from local seller here. I think it is called "earthenware" ? I also attached color of my clay also. 

I am new to this glazing things. I m gonna try out more with zircopax. 

clay color.jpg

You can definitely get a good white on earthenware/terra cotta if you opacify the glaze enough, although maybe not the bright white like in your photo. Majolica was traditionally done on terra cotta, and it's pretty white, but not like it would be on a white clay. If you're using commercial glazes, they may or may not be white enough to work well on red clay. 

You will have to heavily opacify any glaze that you want to be that brilliant white over a red clay, and zircopax will indeed be your friend. If you want something to be that really pristine white with no hint of a shadow, even switching to a white earthenware will help that process along.

Personally, I work with a lot of white glaze over red clay because I like that shadow, and the contrast it brings. It's just a different aesthetic choice.

If you really like your red clay and don't want to switch to a white clay you can also cover the red clay with a white slip. One way of how to do that on mugs here. It's an extra step and the timing on when to apply the slip is important but it's another option. Covering glaze wouldn't need as much zircopax going over a white slip (or clay) than a red one.