^6 Glaze for cake decorating style glazing.

docweathers

Glaze is glass and glass flows so i can't imagine a glaze that can maintain a thick, stay put frosting like consistancy.  I agree piping slip is likely going to be the answer for the effect you are looking for.

i found you a tutorial

https://ceramicartsnetwork.org/daily/pottery-making-techniques/ceramic-decorating-techniques/piece-of-cake-how-to-decorate-your-pots-like-a-pastry-chef/

thanks for the info  I have  full supply of piping tools. I really want t do this as a glaze on bisque.... on top of other glazes. 

Would adding alumina hydrate help the glaze keep its form.?  I know it might cause some roughness. Any solution to this?

On 1/6/2019 at 4:46 PM, Magnolia Mud Research said:

I use a low fire grog-less white commercial clay body as a white glaze at cone 10 R.  

You might try a low fire clay body as a stiff slip glaze at cone 6 over (or maybe mixed with) your glaze.   

LT

I have no experience with low fire anything. What cone low fire  clay would you guess might serve as a stiff majolica "cake icing"?

I tried adding 20% alumina hydrate to one of my current majolica glazes. It did absolutely nothing to stiffen up the glaze. 

Does the strategy have any merits i.e. did I not put enough alumina hydrate in the glaze.

The low fire  clay body I use is Armadillo Longhorn White rated cone 05+-.  Use an equivalent clay body from your local source.  Try it on green ware and fire  to cone 6 to see if it is stiff enough.  If not, add some of your regular white clay body to the get the “stiffness “  you want.  That’s the approach I take when developing a new technique. 

LT

On January 6, 2019 at 10:59 AM, docweathers said:

Would adding alumina hydrate help the glaze keep its form.?  I know it might cause some roughness. Any solution to this?