Need advice on recently purchase kiln

Andrea843

I hope this is the correct area for my topic. 

I recently purchase three kilns for $150.  I was more interested in the bigger one but for $150 for all three plus pottery, books, etc. I thought what the heck. 

However. I soon realize that the kilns were used for China painting and not firing ceramic. Which is what I intended to use it for.   I have done a little pottery at a friends house, but didn’t realize there were different kilns for different things. Yeah, I know.  I’m also a crazy researcher, but purchased these on a whim.  

The seller had them listed as ceramic kiln.  He didn’t know much about it since it belonged to his mother in law.  Guess the  China painters kiln on the control should have given it away, but I didn’t know China painting on already fired and glazed pottery was a thing. 

I’m not having any luck finding any information on this kiln.  I visited a pottery supply place and was told that I could only use it for China painting or copper enameling.  I was also told my kilns were very old.   According to the label the max temp is 1700. However on the front dial it goes up to 2200.  She didn’t seem to have an explanation for this.   So my question is, if the dial clearly has 2200 as the highest temperature than why does it say max temp 1700?   It’s a 220V Paragon 14-9 kiln.  Below is a picture  will try to add more  

Thanks in Advance 

68930A59-C882-43E8-A4BE-3CB5083F5F3E.jpeg

The firebricks appear to be in perfect condition. I suggest using the kiln for low-fire ware. The kiln is a gem.

I'm sorry about the confusing temperatures printed on the switch box. The kiln's maximum temperature is 1700°F in spite of the temperature scale shown behind the switch. The kiln has a blue switch box, which means it can't be older than 2002.

Sincerely,

Arnold Howard / Paragon Industries, L.P., Mesquite, Texas USA

2 hours ago, Arnold Howard said: