Speckles/Texture

ont434

Hello, I’m a novice potter and I have a couple specific questions about clay textures and glazing. I mostly use cone 6 stoneware but I’ve realized I really like clay bodies with what looks like a more granular texture, rather than completely smooth. I’ve also noticed a lot of pieces with speckles but it’s hard to tell if it’s glaze or mixing of clay/granuals that are wedged together before throwing. I also saw a video of a Japanese man who uses mica granular to achieve this look? I’m very confused. I’m sure there are many ways to achieve this look but I have no idea where to start. If I wanted a dark body with light speckles, my thought was to smash light colours thin bisque fired clay pieces into small pieces, putting it through a sieve, then wedging with darker clay. Is this silly? Any advice?

I’ve attached a link to better show what I’m talking about (and left credit to the artists).

https://imgur.com/a/Uf989N4

Thank you in advance!

4 minutes ago, ont434 said:

a more granular texture, rather than completely smooth

What you probably want is grog, which is purchased from clay suppliers, it is smashed up fired clay so you're on the right track. I have had nice results using sand also. The speckles are probably from iron but they might be other things too, iron will achieve the look and it's cheap. Lots of commercial glazes are around right now that are varying degrees of white with speckles. I like "Walnut Spice" (think it's Laguna but I've lost the tag) but literally every glaze maker makes one like it. It's a bit whiter than the one in the image with larger specks. I'll bet you can make your own pretty simply too. 

8 minutes ago, ont434 said:

If I wanted a dark body with light speckles, my thought was to smash light colours thin bisque fired clay pieces into small pieces, putting it through a sieve, then wedging with darker clay. Is this silly? Any advice?