Glaze Cone Firing Question

AndreaB

Hi everyone,

I'm a real newbie. I've had my electric kiln for only11 months. I e been playing with double and triple dip glazing and thought that I could only fire stoneware glaze that I get pre made up from local suppliers (SA). Having pondered over all the posts and recipes I'm now thinking that I can fire the stoneware to a different temp. Is this correct? I see lovely effects from glaze pics. Also can I do reduction/oxidation firing without modifying my kiln?

What cone are you firing to now?

Altering the firing temp. may mean that the clay dos not vitrify and would, if lowering the temp., be more porous.

Reduction in an electric kiln is not usual, though a little may be induced by firing within a sagger, lots of posts here on vitrifying clay, and various related stuff that would help you to explore this further. Even lists of basic ingredients to help you get started with making your own glazes.

YOu couldbuy some midfire clay if that is where you want to go. More economical firing.

What cone are you firing to now?

Altering the firing temp. may mean that the clay dos not vitrify and would, if lowering the temp., be more porous.

Reduction in an electric kiln is not usual, though a little may be induced by firing within a sagger, lots of posts here on vitrifying clay, and various related stuff that would help you to explore this further. Even lists of basic ingredients to help you get started with making your own glazes.

YOu couldbuy some midfire clay if that is where you want to go. More economical firing.