Photo
- - - - -

Cracking elec kiln cover with wedge - ok or bad?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 SmartsyArtsy

SmartsyArtsy

Chris Seminara

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • LocationPNW

Posted 14 December 2012 - 10:43 PM

There are frequently comments about cracking the kiln lid. But one of the statements burned into my brain during at the first studio I worked in was NOT to leave the kiln lid open with the wedge. I was told that it would eventually damage it.

So, kiln people, do or don't?

#2 Wind n Wing

Wind n Wing

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 02:23 AM

Chris,
Are you referring to firing with the lid partially open or venting after firing. I usually wedge the lid open on my kiln (electric) after it has finished firing. But I give it a 12 hour cool down before doing that. I have been doing that for the past 20 years and haven't lost a load or partial load yet. I have two Duncan kilns and will even go so far as to open the bottom peep hole in addition to wedging the lid open. I am firing to a cone 6 and dont glaze. Dont think I would trust this process if I was glazing. To fast a cool down could ruin the load.
RJ

#3 Mark C.

Mark C.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,580 posts
  • LocationNear Arcata Ca-redwood rain forest

Posted 15 December 2012 - 02:27 AM

I have used a soft brick wedge for over 35 years on my bisques in electric . I did so today. I only do it when I need the stuff sooner like for x-mas sales NOW.
My lid has held up fine but I am very careful with it.
Mark
Mark Cortright
www.liscomhillpottery.com

#4 Marcia Selsor

Marcia Selsor

Professor Emerita, Montana State University-Billings

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,678 posts
  • Locationwhere Texas, Matamoros, Rio Grande and Gulf of Mexico come together.

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:36 AM