does a vent change firing schedules/

I have been using my kiln, bought new, for 4 years and getting even cones regularly. My friend just bought the same kiln and she ordered a vent on hers. Will the firing schedule that I use without a vent produce the same results in her identicle kiln with a vent? What advice should I give her about firing ramps and rates and temps, it is her 1st kiln, that will help her get started well ?

Should we expect different results from the use of the vent? overfired, underfired, less even if using the schedule that works evenly without a vent?

Thanks, I am hoping to prevent a melt down here, hers, not the kiln!;)

Many things can affect your firing schedule such as how full you have it filled the number of shelves ect. I added a vent to my Skutt that I have been firing for 20years and my Paragon that I have been firing for 35 years and haven't noticed any extended firing times. Denice

Many things can affect your firing schedule such as how full you have it filled the number of shelves ect. I added a vent to my Skutt that I have been firing for 20years and my Paragon that I have been firing for 35 years and haven't noticed any extended firing times. Denice

Thanks for the input. Mind me asking what prompted you to add a vent after using the kiln successfyully for 20 years?