J.W. Good model 24

Not a total noob to clay, but I am too kilns! The makers space I'm part of (and teach beginning pottery at) recently aquired a J.W. Good model 24 kiln and I have no idea how to run it properly or how high it goes. I can't seem to find a manual or any useful information on this particular type of kiln. It did come with multiple boxes of witness cones, so I wanna guess the highest of those is how high it goes, but there was also a pack of cone incense in that box making me doubt everything! Lol

Any information would be greatly appreciated! received_2349942435016291.jpeg.b251d388399e00e653900d1ed3f67353.jpeg

I haven't measured it myself yet, but i'm guessing it's around 32"tall by 24"? Wide. Comparing to the old ones I have measured. It has an LT-3 kiln sitter. I have a video that shows everything, but I can't figure out how to share it here from my phone ...

It has three knobs that are low- med- high and one at the top the goes from 0-115

received_1030707573801150.jpeg

9.6 Kw probably gets you a strong cone 6 in a 3 cu ft single wall kiln and very likely no better than cone 6-8 in a four to five cu ft. Single wall kiln. Once you get into the four and five cu ft kilns you really need more like 11kw for a solid cone ten machine. 11 kw in a seven cu ft kiln struggles to reach cone six when the elements are worn.

you have given us a photo of the kiln sitter with timer.  are you at all familiar with this shut off device?  it really has nothing to do with the kiln itself, it just turns it off.   the knobs turn the temperature up.   there are manuals available on kiln use.  we have had several recent threads about kiln sitters. 

you mention having cones and maybe are mistaking a cone for incense.  can you elaborate?  cones do look a little like cone shaped incense.   the meaning of the numbers on the cones will become clear a little later in this discussion.