Cone conundrum

My pyrotechnic cones are completely melting rather than just bending.  I'm a bit baffled.

On my first ever glaze firing I was aiming for Cone 5 and set controller to go up to 2000 deg C.  I put a 3 orton cones in (4, 5 ,6) .  the firing took 13.5 hours and all the cones completely melted.  I assumed that the firing was a bit slow and I was over firing.

So the second ever firing, I reduced the target temperature to 1186 deg C.  This time I put in 5 orton cones (4, 5, 6, 7, 8).  The firing took 12 hours and still all the cones melted.  Even the cone 8!  

I am quite new to this but surely I can't have reached cone 8 with that firing?  I'm not wondering if I'm using the cones wrong or something.  Any advice very welcome!

If my conversion is correct, 2000 C is 3632, which is waaaay beyond normal ceramic cones.  So I guess that is like setting the controller to 9999.  It will basically go, as hot as it can.

I have no idea, why the second firing melted the Cone 8, as 1186 C would be Cone 4.

Quick question, are you sure you are using the right cones?  Are you using Cone 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 and NOT Cone 04, 05, 06, 07 and 08?

Homemade pads. I set the cones to the same angle as when the are on a flat surface. But they haven’t just bent they completely melted.  Can’t see how they could have gotten wet. Had some on bottom shelf and some on top shelf. Both ended up the same. 

Glazes actually look look pretty good but have only fired twice so not much to compare with. 

Controller is electric.  Wondering if temp gauge is faulty but 12 hours seems like a reasonably amount of time. And melting a cone 8 cone when I was only aiming for cone 4 temp seems too extreme. 

Would leaving the kiln to cool down for 24 hours cause them to melt?

10 minutes ago, lukeseall said: