Mug Handles

Im new to throwing and tried out a new clay. It's pheonix, a white earthenware. I learned to make handles with red Rock and the first handle I made with pheonix was much harder to get the right form. It seemed too flexible and flimsy to hold shape. Should I let this clay dry out before forming and attaching my handle? Thanks

1 hour ago, A Creasman said:

Im new to throwing and tried out a new clay. It's pheonix, a white earthenware. I learned to make handles with red Rock and the first handle I made with pheonix was much harder to get the right form. It seemed too flexible and flimsy to hold shape. Should I let this clay dry out before forming and attaching my handle? Thanks

Not dry out, but I usually pull my handles (or take them out of the wet box) an hour or two before I use them.  Gives them a chance to harden up a bit.

If you do need to "dry" the handles out some before attaching, remember that you want to attach pieces of clay when they are at the same moisture consistency so they can dry/shrink together. So if your handle is dryer, your mug body should be too.

I pull my handles a few hours after I make my mug bodies; the mugs take longer to dry out, and the handles take a while to make compared to the mugs. Usually by the time I have the handles made, the mugs are ready to flip over, and feet can be addressed/stamped, and ready for handles. Ill bag the mug bodies until the handles or vice versa are the same moisture content. I like for my handles to definitely not be tacky,  but not truly leather hard either. If the handle was a straight slab, when I pick it up by the far end, I want it to slump slightly with gravity, but not flop. This way when its attached, it will maintain its shape. If the handle is softer, and it slumps when you put it on the mug, just sit the mug, with the handle attached, upside down for about an hour or so, and then re-shape the handle